Jane’s Birthday Soiree: A Gift For Miss. Austen

     My dear friends…it is only right that today we celebrate the birth of one loved by so very many. Today is the birthday of Miss. Jane Austen and what better idea than to throw her a birthday soiree of sorts. I do hope you will join us. The lovely Maria of My Jane Austen Book Club and Katherine of November’s Autumn are hosting this most charming of events. There are blogs to be visited (listed below) and austenesque giveaways to enter at every one.

However before I get to the prize portion of this post, I do want to give dear Jane a gift. Out of all the wonders I thought to give her…a new freshly trimmed bonnet, an exquisite dress-dare I say a barouche? No..none felt just right. And so if I could I would give Jane just the perfect gift. It would be that of more time and perhaps more quill and ink so she could create more stories for us all to enjoy.

Austen Inspired Giveaway

One very lucky soiree attendee will win their own Austen inspired party favor. The fetching Lucinda Brant has been kind enough to provide a signed hardcover copy of her novel Noble Satyr: A Georgian Historical Romance. Look for a review of this rollicking romance in later days on Stiletto Storytime. I dare say Jane would approve.

Giveaway ends midnight EST December 23, 2011. This giveaway is open internationally so all are welcome to enter. Winner will be chosen by random.org and notified by e-mail address or Twitter. Good Luck to all and Happy Reading!

To enter simply comment below and share any memory of Jane that you can think of. It can be of one of her works or even an interest in one of her works if you are a newbie. Also don’t forget to visit the other blogs participating in this wonderful event and check out their giveaways as well.

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower/Subscriber of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter (Please leave name in comments)

Be/Become a Follower of Author Lucinda Brant on Twitter (Please leave name in comments)

Tweet or Blog about this Giveaway (Please leave link in comments

  1. Austenprose
  2.  SemiTrue Stories
  3.  First Draft
  4.  Regency Skethes
  5.  Brant Flakes
  6.  Mesmered’s Blog
  7.  The Heroine’s Bookshelf
  8.  vvb32 reads
  9.  The Fiction vs. Reality Smackdown
  10.  ReginaJeffers’s Blog
  11.  Alyssa Goodnight   
  12.  Jane Austen in Vermont
  13.  Jane Started It!
  14.  Choc Lit Authors’ Corner
  15.  Reading, Writing, Working, Playing
  16.  The Jane Austen Film Club 
  17.  El Salón de Té de Jane
  18.  Kaitlin Saunders
  19.  One Literature Nut
  20.  Patrice Sarath
  21.  Jane Austen Brasil
  22.  Jane Austen Sequels 
  23.  Stiletto Storytime
  24.  Jennifer W. Becton
  25.  Urban Girl Takes Vermont
  26.  Pemberley Variations 
  27.  AustenAuthors
  28.  November’s Autumn
  29.  My Jane Austen Book Club
  30. O! Beauty Unattempted
  31. Sharon Lathan

35 Comments

Filed under Blog Tour, Classic Literature, Contests, historical fiction, Jane Austen

35 responses to “Jane’s Birthday Soiree: A Gift For Miss. Austen

  1. Margaret

    My fondest memory is watching P&P with my Mom. She loved it! Now that she’s passed away it is a special movie in my collection. Happy Birthday Jane! Thanks for the giveaway!

    Margaret
    singitm(at)hotmail(dot)com

  2. My fondest memory is reading Northanger Abbey for the first time and absolutely falling in love with Henry Tilney. :)
    Thanks for the giveaway!

  3. kim

    Sense and Sensibility is my favorite, esp. the movie version with Emma Thompson. I have two sisters and we are Eleanor, Marianne and Margaret! Happy Birthday Jane, you still entertain!

    Kim

  4. I remember reading “Pride and Prejudice” for the first time with a huge dictionary. I’m sure that my love for Jane Austen’s books and my wish to read them all again and again made me want to improve my English until I could read them without having the need to translate every second word. Happy birthday Jane!

    faridamestek@yahoo.com

  5. Mary Preston

    I can remember reading PRIDE AND PREJUDICE for the first time. I fell in love with Jane Austen’s works. I have read them all many times over since then.

    mrypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  6. Mary Preston

    Subscriber of Stiletto Storytime:

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  7. BeckyC

    Happy Birthday, Jane!!!

    cherringtonmb(at)sbcglobal(dot)ne

  8. Katrin

    I remeber finding a vhs-copy of Persuasion in the local library in Finland, while I spent an exchange year there and whatching it several times. After that I went and borrowed the book in the library too. Persuasion is since then one of my absolute fav Jane Austen books!

    I´m a followe of StilettoStorytimes on Twitter (@kaewink)

  9. Just after college graduation, while waiting for a full time job to begin, I read all of Jane Austen’s novels — her life’s work! — in about a week. I felt rather guilty at the time, like a greedy child who devours an entire box of chocolates instead of making them last. Fortunately, good books are better than good chocolate, for one can enjoy them again and again. And no calories! When I began writing, I “borrowed” the second-string characters from Persuasion and took them on a romp. :)

    I now follow Stiletto Storytime on Twitter, and also Lucinda Brant. Thanks so much for the giveaway!

    elizabethelliotami@gmail.com

  10. Thanks for Joining our party, Courtney! And for contributing to make it successful :-)

    • stilettostorytime

      Thanks so much for thinking to include me! It’s truly an honor to be apart of this wonderful event to celebrate a woman we so love and admire!

  11. Felicia

    I’ve met a wonderful group of friends due to Jane Austen. So I’d say, my fondest memory would be our first meet-up.

    I’d love a to win a copy of the book, looks great! I’m a subscriber and I follow you both on twitter!

    Felicia

    felicialso@ gmail .com

  12. Watching Emma with my friends, making Jane related goody bags for them, eating snacks, having a good ol’ time. Thanks for the book giveaway opportunity!

  13. I have loved P&P since I was 12 years old.

  14. Margay

    My fondest memory is watching the P & P movie wit Keira Knightley with my older daughter for the first time and loving it so much, it became a tradition with us to watch it when she’s home for break. And as an off-shoot of that, watching her read and re-read the book, which led to an interest in other classics for her – and for me! Thanks, Jane, for bringing me closer to my daughter.

    Margay1122ATaolDOTcom

    • stilettostorytime

      Margay- That’s such a wonderful thing to be able to connect with your daughter over P & P…makes me wish for a daughter myself to share my love of Austen with! I was especially close to my great grandmother who was a great influence on my love of reading. My most prized bookish possession is her copy of P & P in which she wrote her name and the year she read it. It mean so very much to me.

  15. Margay

    I’m an email subscriber.

  16. Thank you for the giveaway! I have great memories of discussing Jane Austen’s works with a good friend on IM.
    I am a twitter follower of both as msaching
    melorabrock {at} gmail {dot} com

  17. Monica P

    A favorite memory would be watching the 95 P&P for the first time with my mom. I was reluctant but she convinced me, and we had the best time cracking up laughing at Mrs Bennet.

    Thanks for the giveaway! I tweeted about it here: http://twitter.com/jaffobsession/status/148961757619171329

    • stilettostorytime

      No matter what adaptation it is….I always enjoy what directors do with our dear Mrs. Bennet! She never fails to deliver! ;)

  18. rainakochan

    my fondest memory is reading “persuasion” at the very end when ann is reading captain wentworth’s veru romantic and humble letter and we understand his whole standpoint in the novel , i was delighted ..i almost faint :) it was so romantic *__*
    reminds me..i should read it for the thrid time XD

  19. Olga

    This is so much fun. I’m having a great time discovering so many wonderful Austen sites. Thanks.

    • stilettostorytime

      Isn’t it lovely? I too have had fun visiting everyone and celebrating with my fellow Janeites! I think our dear Jane would definitely approve!

  20. Denise Adorian

    I think that might be the best gift yet.More time.Wonderful!Please enter me in your giveaway.I’m having so much fun learning about Jane’s life.I’m going down the list to visit all involved.Memory…..Humm….It would have to be watching the movie Pride and Prejudice,the latest version.I loved it.Can you imagine Jane watching that movie?Denise @ knuckled54@yahoo.com or at my blog:Denise’s Delights in her Coffeeberry Cottage Thank you.

  21. Claire

    I Became a Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter @Grachimagia
    My e-mail address is tiernarebeldia@gmail.com

  22. Claire

    I Became a Follower of @LucindaBrant on Twitter @Grachimagia
    My e-mail address is tiernarebeldia@gmail.com

  23. Claire

    When I read the novels of Jane I always think in her perception of fraternity. At least with Cassandra, there is no doubt of the endearing affection that united them and I think this particular relationship as reflected in 2 of the Bennet sisters, the Dashwood sisters, a little in the Woodhouse sisters and even in the Knightley brothers, and more broadly showed the importance she gave to this relationship in the absence that suffers Miss Elliot.
    My e-mail address is tiernarebeldia@gmail.com

    • stilettostorytime

      Claire- so true and wonderful observations…I have always felt for Anne and her lack of familial “love” or even common sense among her relations…. One of the reasons I think Persuasion’s happy ending is so well-deserved and beloved!

  24. IdentitySeeker

    Thank for this great giveaway! I was thinking to send Jane Austen a lifetime supply of pens and paper to write more novels as well. Pen would not leave ink stains like quill and ink writing.

    Extra entries:

    +1 Follow/subscribe: sarah.setar@gmail.com
    +1 Twitter follower: @SweetNSensible
    +1 Twitter follower of Lucinda: @SweetNSensible
    +1 Tweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/SweetNSensible/status/149725259568910336

    Sarah

    sarah.setar@gmail.com

  25. I loved when I first started reading Austen, suddenly being transported back in history.

  26. I follow you on Twitter as RegencyErica

  27. stilettostorytime

    And the winner is…Claire! Congrats Claire…you’ve won a great work of historical fiction that will have you up reading long into the night! And thanks to everyone for helping celebrate Jane’s birthday!

Let's Talk....

