Blog Tour: Can You Survive? Jack London’s “Call of the Wild”

   Growing up as a child there were two types of books that really caught my attention. I loved the “Choose Your Own Adventure” books and I also adored classical literature…a trend that has obviously  persisted throughout my lifetime. Bringing the classics to children has always been part of my mission as a children’s librarian, I simply love exposing children to classical literature and watching their minds come alive with the masterpieces of the past. Just that small taste of a classic can promote a child to later in life pick up the real thing which to me is the end goal.

Enter the newly adapted “Can You Survive” series from Ryan Jacobson in which he combines the classic Call of the Wild  by Jack London with an interactive choose your own path type format. The result is an adventure into a true classic that allows young readers an interactive choice driven reading experience. This book is perfect for reluctant boy readers of late elementary to early middle grade range (Ages 9-12) although some girls may find the book to their liking as well.

The book itself places the reader into the role of Buck, the reluctant sled dog. Each plot twist and turn allows readers to decide their action and hope for survival. It’s obvious throughout the book that Jacobson has tried to stay as true as possibly to Jack London’s original story in many ways. However I would caution the choices and situations faced in the book can be graphic and somewhat disturbing at times. I would advise parents and educators to stick to the age guidelines set forth by the book or to read the book ahead of time and make sure they feel the book is appropriate for the age group for which they intend it. When made available to the correct audience this book could truly open doors into the world of classical literature for the right child.

Book Giveaway

Thanks to generous author Ryan Jacobson one lucky reader of Stiletto Storytime will win their very own copy of Can You Survive? Jack London’s Call of the Wild for a special child in their life. Giveaway ends midnight EST November 10, 2011. US and Canada addresses only please. Winner will be chosen by random.org and notified by e-mail address. Good Luck to all and Happy Reading!

To enter just comment below telling us what special child in your life deserves this book and why you think they would enjoy it. Teachers and educators are welcome and encouraged to enter for their classrooms and students.

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

Be/Become a Follower Author Ryan Jacobson on Twitter

Tweet or Blog about this Giveaway (Please leave link in comments)

14 Comments

Filed under Blog Tour, Children's Literature, Contests, Middle Grade, New Books

14 responses to “Blog Tour: Can You Survive? Jack London’s “Call of the Wild”

  1. What a great idea for a book! I used to love choose your own adventure books. No need to enter me.

  2. I’m always looking for ways to hook my kids to classics. My daughters love adventure books, so this would definitely appeal to her sensibilities. Sure, enter me. Why not? I will post this link to my blog when I do my next feature on Kids’ Classics.
    Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Can You Survive this blog tour? | Author vs. Monster

  4. mamabunny13

    My nephew would love this because it is adventurous and it has a dog in it! lol
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  5. mamabunny13

    I follow via gfc – mamabunny13
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  6. mamabunny13

    I follow you on twitter @mamabunny13
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  7. mamabunny13

    I follow Author Ryan Jacobson on Twitter @mamabunny13
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  8. my daughter cuz she is amzing

  9. Oh, this sounds like an awesome way to get kids reading! I teach one class of sixth grade struggling readers and one class of seventh grade struggling readers–all of whom would love this book! I’m going to look into this series!

  10. stilettostorytime

    Elissa- This book would be perfect for that…it’s a really good series for those reluctant and challenged readers!

  11. stilettostorytime

    Congratulations to Elissa J. Hoole! You’ve won your very own copy of “Can You Survive: Jack London’s Call of the Wild”. Enjoy and Happy Reading!

  12. Pingback: The Call of the Wild by Jack London – Whole Book | sensitiveskinconditions.com

Let's Talk....

