Review & Giveaway: Left Neglected by Lisa Genova

    “Sarah Nickerson is like any other career-driven supermom in Welmont, the affluent Boston suburb where she leads a hectic but charmed life with her husband Bob, faithful nanny, and three children—Lucy, Charlie, and nine-month-old Linus.

Between recruiting the best and brightest minds as the vice president of human resources at Berkley Consulting; shuttling the kids to soccer, day care, and piano lessons; convincing her son’s teacher that he may not, in fact, have ADD; and making it home in time for dinner, it’s a wonder this over-scheduled, over-achieving Harvard graduate has time to breathe.

A self-confessed balloon about to burst, Sarah miraculously manages every minute of her life like an air traffic controller. Until one fateful day, while driving to work and trying to make a phone call, she looks away from the road for one second too long. In the blink of an eye, all the rapidly moving parts of her jam-packed life come to a screeching halt.

A traumatic brain injury completely erases the left side of her world, and for once, Sarah relinquishes control to those around her, including her formerly absent mother. Without the ability to even floss her own teeth, she struggles to find answers about her past and her uncertain future.

Now, as she wills herself to regain her independence and heal, Sarah must learn that her real destiny—her new, true life—may in fact lie far from the world of conference calls and spreadsheets. And that a happiness and peace greater than all the success in the world is close within reach, if only she slows down long enough to notice.”

For some reason I am always drawn to books that have a psychological twist or theme involved. The brain is such a limitless thing that books seem to be able to explore it again and again…and never seem to discover the same thing. When I read the description for Left Neglected I was hooked. I knew this would be one I would enjoy. I had never heard of “Left Neglect” so the idea of it was fascinating to me as I think it will be to many readers out there.

Sarah truly represents the struggling mother of the modern day family perfectly. Trying to balance being mom, wife and professional…she seems to feel overwhelmed by her daily demands until an accident literally robs her of her “left”. Imagine suddenly everything, everyone and every part of your body on the left is in your mind literally gone. Suddenly the struggles of every day life pale in comparison. How will Sarah go on? Taking care of her family, her high power career she worked so hard for…all are in jeopardy. Together with the ideas of family, lost and rekindled relationships and even forgiveness, Left Neglected is a multi-layered novel that will leave you not only thinking after the last page but also thankful. For those who enjoyed Lisa Genova’s hit Still Alice, this novel is a great read not to be missed.

Book Giveaway

One lucky reader of Stiletto Storytime will win their very own newly released paperback copy of Left Neglected. Giveaway ends midnight EST August 6, 2011. US addresses only please. Winners will be chosen by random.org and notified by e-mail address. Good Luck to all and Happy Reading!

To enter simply comment below answering this question:

What is your favorite book with a psychological subject or twist and why?

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter (Leave Name)

Be/Become a Follower of author Lisa Genova on Twitter (Leave Name)

Tweet or Blog about this Giveaway (Please leave links in comments)

23 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Contests

23 responses to “Review & Giveaway: Left Neglected by Lisa Genova

  1. I have this book on my TBR and I’m looking forward to reading it. As I studied psychology (including neuropsychology) I’ve heard of Left Neglect but never from a patient’s point of view, so that seems really interesting. Still Alice was a very good book, too. I’m abroad, don’t enter me.

  2. Amy

    STILL ALICE was such a good book, but I also like WHERE IS THE MANGO PRINCESS? (a memoir about a woman whose husband recovers from TBI). Thanks for the giveaway!

    Amy // amyismyfriend at aol dot com

  3. Amy

    I’m a follower!

    Amy // amyismyfriend at aol dot com

  4. Amy

    I follow you on Twitter (artsybookishgal)

    Amy // amyismyfriend at aol dot com

  5. Amy

    Following Lisa Genova on Twitter (artsybookishgal)

    Amy // amyismyfriend at aol dot com

  6. This sounds really good to me. I’m having trouble picking a favorite, so I’m going to go with Tomato Girl by Jayne Pupek.

  7. Colleen Turner

    I loved The Shining! There isn’t anything creepier than getting into the head of someone who is losing their mind :).

  8. Colleen Turner

    I am a follower!

  9. I love My Sister’s Keeper and many Stephen King type novels. edysicecreamlover18ATgmailDOTcom

  10. follow you as Krystal Larson

  11. twitter follower Icecream1891

  12. Thanks so much for taking the time to read LEFT NEGLECTED and for posting such a great review of it at your blog! I’m so glad you enjoyed this story!

    If you’re on Facebook and would like to stay in touch, please join me at http://www.facebook.com/authorlisagenova. Hope to see you there!

    Thank again and Happy Summer!
    Best wishes,
    Lisa Genova

  13. mamabunny13

    I’m gonna have to go with Stephen King’s “The Long Walk”. This book doesn’t have a psychological twist…the whole story is one big psychological ” long walk”! I loved it.
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  14. mamabunny13

    I Follow of author Lisa Genova on Twitter @mamabunny13
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  15. mamabunny13

    I Follow you on Twitter @mamabunny13
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  16. mamabunny13

    I follow via gfc
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  17. Rose

    I have never read any books with a psychological subject or twist but your review of this book has me interested! Love your blog! Please enter me in the drawing.

  18. Amy

    I also blogged about the giveaway: http://www.backseatreader.net/2011/08/where-she-me-went-giveaways.html

    That’s how much I love Lisa Genova!

    Amy // amyismyfriend at aol dot com

  19. Na

    I can’t remember the last book with a psychological subject so I may need to remedy that.

  20. Na

    I am a GFC follower.

  21. Georgina

    My favourite novel of that genre is my Sister’s Keeper because it was such an intriguing book

  22. stilettostorytime

    And the winner is Rose. Congrats Rose and thanks to all who entered. Happy Reading!

Let's Talk....

