Review: The Midwife’s Confession by Diane Chamberlain

    “Dear Anna,

What I have to tell you is difficult to write, but I know it will be far more difficult for you to hear, and I’m so sorry…

The unfinished letter is the only clue Tara and Emerson have to the reason behind their close friend Noelle’s suicide. Everything they knew about Noelle—her calling as a midwife, her passion for causes, her love for her friends and family—described a woman who embraced life.

Yet there was so much they didn’t know.

With the discovery of the letter and its heartbreaking secret, Noelle’s friends begin to uncover the truth about this complex woman who touched each of their lives—and the life of a desperate stranger—with love and betrayal, compassion and deceit.”

It’s a story of friendship, secrets and in some ways an ultimate betrayal but one thing Diane Chamberlain’s latest work is not is predictable. Chamberlain has that unique talent of making you think that you have the whole plot figured out….as if it will flow in predictably good fashion all along and then wham! She gets you but only in a good way. She takes her characters and their lives and makes them more than you could have ever imagined before you turned the page.

Friendships play a large role in this work especially those between women as both friends and relatives. We see the highs and lows of both represented, the inside jokes and the darker moments too. As we get multiple points of views from an all female narrating cast, we are given a glimpse into each character’s head, personality and life. This is where Chamberlain truly excels as a writer. Her character formation is superb. Her characters are real, 3D, lovable and able to be despised at the same time…she also is very talented with writing multi-generational characters. Chamberlain’s voice rings true both as a teenage and a middle aged adult. Her voice as angry teen Grace rings true as an angry teen not a writer trying to sound like an angry teenage girl. A feat not easily done well.

In the end The Midwife’s Confession is an addictive read that will draw you in until the last page has been turned. A calm, structured voice with smoothly written prose, Chamberlain enchants while her characters take center stage. A perfect book for a lazy afternoon or a day at the beach.

Book Giveaway

Thanks to the generosity of Meryl L. Ross Media and Mira Books, one Stiletto Storytime winner will win their very own copy of The Midwife’s Confession. To enter just leave a comment telling if you have ever kept a secret from a close friend/family member or vice versa? Secrets and friendships play such a vital role in this book. No intimate details needed. Just let us know where you stand on secrets between friends/family and when not to share or always share….it will be interesting to see where everyone stands before reading this book.

Giveaway ends midnight EST June 1, 2011. US and Canada addresses only please. Winner will be chosen by random.org and notified by e-mail address. Good Luck to all and Happy Reading!

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

Be/Become a Follower of Author Diane Chamberlain on Twitter

32 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Blog Tour, New Books

32 responses to “Review: The Midwife’s Confession by Diane Chamberlain

  1. Jennifer

    Secrets are good! I think everyone needs stuff that they keep only to themselves, as long as it doesn’t hurt others. I follow on Twitter and I would love to read this book! Sounds like a good one.

  2. Who hasn’t kept a secret? The trouble with me and secrets is that they’re bound to come out eventually — especially if gin and tonics are involved…!

  3. I’m a BIG advocate of communication,the expression of feelings/emotions, and the sharing of secrets in relationships, including friendships. However, the fact of the matter is, you can know and love a person for ages, and yet not know them a hundred percent. I think our private selves are highly guarded subconscious beings that are built into our psyche for the purpose or harboring those secrets that we may not be comfortable telling even our closest friends. But usually, those secrets eat us alive from the inside. A secret, although created to protect oneself, can become like a burden – sharing it with someone lightens the load. You just have to choose the right people to tell.

    Thank you SO much for hosting this giveaway – thank you for all of the giveaways you host, but especially this one, since I’ve been dying to read this novel. Becoming a “midwife” is what got me into medicine in the first place (I got interested in the dynamics of midwifery via Chris Bohjalian’s “Midwives”), and this one is not just based on that subject, but also is a sort of mystery-drama which I absolutely LOVE reading! So thank you…thank you very much for the opportunity! :)

    ~Hira~
    Email: Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com
    Twitter: @inluvwithbookz

  4. Janis Rothermel

    Sometimes things are better left unsaid; so yes, some secrets are necessary to keep the peace, to maintain sanity and flow.

  5. Jenny

    I have to say I have definitely kept a few secrets from my family and friends but nothing that would be harmful to their lives or safety. Love the review and the book sounds really interesting.

  6. Yes, I kept a secret for over 30 years because I didn’t want to hurt my mother.

  7. It sounds like the characters in this book are very true to life. I can’t wait to read it. No need to enter me.

  8. jwitt33

    I have lived for 47 years, and yes, I have things I am not proud of, so yes, I have secrets that I think are nobody’s business but my own. I also am very good at keeping secrets for friends when asked. I believe wholeheartedly in open communication, but I say let the past lie if need be. Unless of course there are gin and tonics involved … oh, wait, that was above wasn’t it? LOL
    I am an email follower of Stiletto Storytime as jwitt33@live.com
    I am a follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter as @jwitt33
    I am a follower of Author Diane Chamberlain on Twitter as @jwitt33.
    Thanks for a great giveaway:)
    Julie Witt

  9. Sophia L.

    I have of course kept a secret before from my family and close friends. If it has nothing to do with them, I think keeping a sceret is okay. Everyone deserves their privacy. If it is something that has the potential to hurt the close friend/family member however, I think you should tell that person.

    Follower of Stiletto Storytime (Sophia)
    Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter (Adidaswbm)
    Follower of Author Diane Chamberlain on Twitter (Adidaswbm)

    Sophia L.
    sophiayunjin at gmail dot com

  10. Sheila K.

    Everyone has secrets they keep from others—for a variety of reasons—myself included.

  11. Michelle C

    Absolutely, I’ve kept secrets from both family and friends. Sometimes it’s necessary! Thanks for the chance to win!
    mrsmchappell at gmail dot com

  12. Michelle C

    Following you on twitter as mrsmchappell
    mrsmchappell at gmail dot com

  13. Michelle C

    Following Diane Chamberlain on twitter as mrsmchappell
    mrsmchappell at gmail dot com

  14. Linda Kish

    I’m not good at secrets. I prefer to keep everything out in the open even if it hurts.

    lkish77123 at gmail dot com

  15. Toni

    I would say I do have secrets that I have not told my best friend, but she knows more about me then my husband does.

    tsteinerid(gmailcom)

  16. Toni

    I’m a follower.
    tsteinerid(gmailcom)

  17. I was so excited in relaying my gratitude, I forgot to add my extra entries!

    I’m a follower of Stiletto Storytime via email.

    ~Hira~
    Email: Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com

  18. I’m a Twitter follower of Stiletto Storytime: @inluvwithbookz

    ~Hira~
    Email: Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com
    Twitter: @inluvwithbookz

  19. I follow @D_Chamberlain on Twitter: @inluvwithbookz

    ~Hira~
    Email: Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com
    Twitter: @inluvwithbookz

  20. Jackie

    There are some things I wouldnt tell anyone, but I do tell my best friend just about everything. Thanks!
    jackievillano at gmail dot com

  21. Jackie

    I am an email subscriber
    jackievillano at gmail dot com

  22. Jo

    I always keep secrets, sometimes because I’m scared of what other people might think, even if we are very close.

    jo.tee35 AT gmail DOT com

  23. Kris

    I believe that there are secrets that will hurt when found out; however, there are some things that you just can’t tell people. There’s no way to know how to tell them. I have kept secrets from family and friends and will probably continue to do so.

    Kris
    elfdrop AT gmail DOT com

  24. Kris

    Follower of Stiletto Storytime: email subscribe with email below

    Kris
    elfdrop AT gmail DOT com

  25. Kris

    Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter: SummersKris

    Kris
    elfdrop AT gmail DOT com

  26. Kris

    Follower of Author Diane Chamberlain on Twitter: SummersKris

    Kris
    elfdrop AT gmail DOT com

  27. Yes, I have kept a secret from a friend or family member, but it was only in their best intrerest!

    I am a follower.
    kdurham2@gmail.com

  28. Carol M

    I have kept a few secrets. I think sometimes it’s important to do so.

    I’m an email subscriber.
    I Follower of Stiletto Storytime on Twitter-CarolAnnM
    I Follower Author Diane Chamberlain on Twitter

    mittens0831 at aol dot com

  29. stilettostorytime

    Congratulations to Hira Hasnain! Thanks to everyone who entered and visited Stiletto Storytime. Please make sure to check out my other great reading giveaways!

Let's Talk....

