Blog Tour: The Four Ms. Bradwells by Meg Waite Clayton

 

“Meg Waite Clayton’s national bestseller The Wednesday Sisters was a word-of-mouth sensation and book club favorite. Now the beloved author is back with a page-turning novel that explores the secrets we keep, even from those closest to us, and celebrates the enduring power of friendship.

Mia, Laney, Betts, and Ginger, best friends since law school, have reunited for a long weekend as Betts awaits Senate confirmation of her appointment to the Supreme Court. Nicknamed “the Ms. Bradwells” during their first class at the University of Michigan Law School in 1979—when only three women had ever served full Senate terms and none had been appointed to the Court—the four have supported one another through life’s challenges: marriages and divorces, births and deaths, career setbacks and triumphs large and small. Betts was, and still is, the Funny One. Ginger, the Rebel. Laney, the Good Girl. And Mia, the Savant.

But when the Senate hearings uncover a deeply buried skeleton in the friends’ collective closet, the Ms. Bradwells retreat to a summer house on the Chesapeake Bay, where they find themselves reliving a much darker period in their past—one that stirs up secrets they’ve kept for, and from, one another, and could change their lives forever.

Once again, Meg Waite Clayton writes inspiringly about the complex circumstances facing women and the heartfelt friendships that hold them together. Insightful and affecting, The Four Ms. Bradwells is also a captivating tale of how far people will go to protect the ones they love.”

I have to say I have been wanting to read this book since the very first moment I saw the cover. It’s simplicity and elegance caught my eye immediately. The shelf appeal is undeniable. However once I began to engage in the story…the elegance and importance of the writing won me over much more than the design of a book cover ever could.

Unlike many readers I have to admit I have not read the much loved The Wednesday Sisters but I will be doing so very soon. Meg Waite Clayton seems to have a talent for writing about women- not just as individuals but as humans in all the roles we portray in our lives. The role of wife, mother, daughter, friend, revolutionary, victim, advocate and even the professional role in whatever career path we choose. I loved that the women were portrayed as strong individuals and yet their flaws, victimization or mistakes in life were still explored showing we all have secrets…we all have a past. But that past does not define who we are. Who we are is inexplicably tied to these roles and experiences and yet we are also separate selves who exist independently. This author “gets” that and even more amazing she can portray it in a way that will leave readers spellbound and thinking about her work long after the last page has been read.

I loved the unraveling of the story of these women, their friendships, the way they supported one another, the way they represented a group and yet also were portrayed as individuals. The Four Ms. Bradwells is a book so well thought out it can almost be hard to cover all the thought provoking themes held within its pages. As the story is told in flashback and modern day, we get a taste of history and the hard road of feminism that so many women have fought before us. All in all a great read for the women in your life and a very thought provoking journey. It may not be for every reader but those looking for a deeper meaning and strongly knit tale will be touched by this book.

Remember to check out all the other great reviewers for this fantastic TLC Book Tour.

Book Giveaway

I have to say I am so pleased to be able to share this book with one of my readers. I have one copy of The Four Ms. Bradwells to give away and I am so excited to be able to pass on such an extraordinary reading experience.

Giveaway ends midnight EST April 20, 2011. US and Canada address only please. Winner will be chosen by random.org and notified by e-mail address. The winner will receive the book sometime in May once the Book Tour is over. Good Luck to all and Happy Reading!

To enter simply leave a comment below letting my know what role friendships played in your life….especially those of women if you are female or leave me a suggestion of another great read about the power of friendship.

Want extra entries? You can get an extra entry by doing any of the following:

Be/Become a Follower of Stiletto Storytime

Be/Become a Follower Stiletto Storytime on Twitter

Be/Become a Follower Author Meg Waite Clayton on Twitter

Tweet or Blog about this Giveaway (Please leave link in comments)

51 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Blog Tour, New Books

51 responses to “Blog Tour: The Four Ms. Bradwells by Meg Waite Clayton

  1. Michelle

    Friendship is the cornerstone of my life. The women who help support and comfort me keep me stable and focused as life goes forward.

    Email follower: methirteenATyahooDOTcom

  2. debbie

    My friends have supported me through some very tough times. I can’t imagine what I would have done without them.
    twoofakind12@yahoo.com

  3. A friend who calls me and my whole family is ill, I ask for her to pick some tylenol up for us and she brings us lunch and dinner and then feeds my little ones, does the dishes and clean the kitchen for me so I can rest. I love her for that and for all the wonderful things she is and does. Thanks for the memories.

    • stilettostorytime

      Lisa- Thanks for sharing. I recently had a s similar situation. I had to have dental surgery at 10:00 in the morning….I called my friend and she made it here to watch my son with her two kids in tow, in rush hour Atlanta traffic in twenty minutes…now that’s friendship!

  4. When our son was young, we lived away from family and my husband worked long hours. I would never have made it without my friends. This book sounds great!

    • stilettostorytime

      Kathy- I really do think you would enjoy this book immensely based on what I have seen your reading preferences to be in the past!

  5. Mona Garg

    The book I remember is actually about a toxic friendship. The title is BORDERLINES: A MEMOIR. I found it to be disturbing and memorable.

  6. Mona Garg

    Email subscriber of Stiletto Storytime

  7. Mona Garg

    Twitter(@Kulmona)

  8. Mona Garg

    Follow Meg Clayton on Twitter(@Kulmona)

  9. Colleen Turner

    I think it is hard to get through life without close friendships, especially those of women. When I was eleven my grandmother (and probably my favorite person on earth) passed away and I was inconsolable. Everyone kept coming up to me at her funeral and trying to talk to me, telling me how sorry they were for my lose, etc. I couldn’t even look at them. Then my best friend at the time walked right up to me, hugged me and didn’t say a word. I will never forget her or how she knew exactly what I needed right then and there. Not a word, just a hug.

  10. Colleen Turner

    I am an email subscriber/follower.

  11. Friends keep you grounded. When things get stressful they are the ones to calm me, and I am the one to calm them.

  12. “we all have secrets…we all have a past. But that past does not define who we are.” So true, and yet so often writers fall into the cliche of allowing a character’s past to define that character’s role in the novel – I’m happy to see that that is not the case here. I haven’t read THE WEDNESDAY SISTERS either, but clearly I’m missing out!

  13. Some friends come and go but I’ve had some that I’ve known for almost 50 years and they are the best!

  14. Real friends are the ones who tell you the truth–even if it hurts.

    webbJM AT verizon DOT net

  15. Alicia Caldwell

    If it wasn’t for my girlfriends, I would’ve killed my son and divorced my husband. They are the only reason I remain grounded and sane. (Alcohol helps, too)

    I am a follower of the blog
    I am a Twitter follower
    I follow Meg Waite Clayton on Twitter
    And I tweeted about it here http://twitter.com/#!/aliciacald/status/55733963192401920

  16. Wow, friendship…I know that friendship has become very important to me since I was diagnosed with breast cancer 16 years ago. I have met so many women through the increadible experience of survivorship and advocacy that it is impossible to describe. I so hope to win this book. pinkim from TrulySimplyPink

  17. I am a follower of Author Meg Waite Clayton on twitter. I am pinkim95 on twitter. Pinkim from TrulySimplyPink

  18. I tweeted about the giveaway…
    StiletoStrytime Courtney Webb
    by pinkim95
    New Review & Giveaway: “The Four Ms. Bradwells” at Stiletto Storytime courtesy of TLC Book Tours: http://wp.me/p9Hng-Pf @MegWClayton

  19. I am a follower of your blog…pinkim fromTrulySimplyPink

  20. I follow you on twitter…pinkim from TrulySimplyPink

  21. Kristen

    The women who have weathered through the storm of life and remained by my side have become not only my best friends but my family. They are my strength, and they help me to endure all of life’s hurtles.

  22. Friends are family when your own is far away. From chicken soup to dessert nights to emergency department visits, the shared experiences are the ones you carry with you when life and work seem too darn hard.

    P.S. Retweeted your giveaway (alice_unblocked)

  23. rhonda

    friends always know just when they are needed!!

  24. bookaddictkatie

    My friends have supported me in good times and bad. They make everyday life more amusing and keep me going.

    Followed on Twitter @BookaddictKatie

  25. My best friend is more like my sister. I feel a pressure in my chest that is only lightened when I tell her “all about it,” and we can have a good laugh. Absolutely indispensable. I’ve been eagerly awaiting this book release. Congrats to Ms. Clayton!

  26. Please enter me in the contest.

    My friends have been around since high school and while we don’t always get to see each other, if I need anything, I know they are a phone message away and always willing to get together.

  27. Like you, I haven’t yet read THE WEDNESDAY SISTERS, but I’ve heard such fantastic reviews of that, and now of THE FOUR MS. BRADWELLS!

    I met my closest friend when she moved in two doors down from me (I was 3!). We’ve drifted apart and together again over the years, now we live about 30 minutes from each other, call/email often, and get to meet for coffee/lunch about once a month.

    She recently gave me a copy of THE GIRLS FROM AMES because she loved the theme of friendship thru the years.

    Thanks for the chance to win.

  28. Pingback: April Contests: Book Giveaways & Critique Contests : Inky Fresh Press

  29. SMS

    You have a great sense of writing I must say. Your posts incorporates the reality which are not accessible from anywhere else. It’s my humble request to u please keep such brilliant contents.And yes i have book mark your site stilettostorytime.wordpress.com .

  30. Friendship is the salve that heals all wounds. Friendship is the song, the melody of which will fill your heart with joy. Good friendships is weaved into the very fabric of your soul. I met my best friend in 7th grade, I am now 25, and we are still best friends — her constant presence in my life has allowed me the luxury to always have a shoulder to cry on, always have someone to call when in need, and feel my happiness increase exponentially by having someone to share my joys with.

    Thank you for hosting this amazing giveaway. I, for one, cannot wait to read “The Four Ms. Bradwells”.

  31. I am a confirmed email subscriber of “Stilleto Storytime”

    Email: Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com

  32. +1 Entry – I follow @StiletoStrytime on Twitter

    Twitter handle: @inluvwithbookz

  33. Tiffany D.

    Friendship is extremely important to me. I have had the same friends for 20 years, adding a few throughout the years. Since I am a stay at home mom, being able to get out and visit and “girl talk” with my friends is a way of keeping me sane lol.

    I would love to read this book, it is on my wish list. Thank you for the great giveaway :)

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

    • stilettostorytime

      Tiffany D- I completely understand the “keeping Mommy sane” aspect of friendship at this stage in our lives. I too am a SAHM Mom and sometimes it really can be what gets me through a rough day! Thanks for sharing!

  34. Tiffany D.

    I am an email subscriber :)

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  35. Tiffany D.

    I follow you on Twitter as @enterthedrew

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  36. Tiffany D.

    I follow Meg on Twitter as @enterthedrew

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  37. Tiffany D.

    I tweeted:

    jaidahsmommy(at)comcast(dot)net

  38. +1 Entry – I follow @MegWClayton on Twitter

    Twitter handle: @inluvwithbookz

  39. Jane Cook

    After my husband died, I had no one. I eventually made 3 dear friends from a widow/ers online support group, and they saved my life. No one else understands what I’ve been through the same as someone who’s been there.

    • stilettostorytime

      Jane- I am so glad that you had that resource…it’s amazing what technology can do for the good….including connecting us with great friends we might never have met otherwise.

  40. Jane Cook

    I’ve retweeted https://twitter.com/#!/DollyJ007 and I follow both you and Meg on Twitter

  41. Rebecca Booth

    A friend and cousin that I have become close with is Lilly Gayle, the writer, and I have become close with her family and especially her mother again after so many years apart. Her mother and I saw each other as children at our grandmother’s home. Due to circumstances beyond our control, we lost touch with each other until the last few years. I am so thankful for knowing the whole amazing family now!
    I am impatiently waiting for Lilly Gayle’s historical Victorian romance Laced with danger, SLIGHTLY TARNISHED, coming June 3, 2011 from The Wild Rose Press.
    Synopsis:
    When a brooding English earl with a SLIGHTLY TARNISHED reputation marries his dead wife’s American cousin to save her from her uncle’s vengeful schemes, the sea captain’s daughter with a taste for adventure sparks desires he thought long dead.
    Nicole Keller has always been headstrong and independent, but after a failed business venture and a sinking ship take her father, her home, and her childhood sweetheart, Nikki must support herself and her mother. But moving to England and marrying Chadwick Masters, Earl of Gilchrest isn’t what she has in mind. And falling in love with the mysterious earl could endanger both their lives.
    Thanks!
    Rebecca
    rbooth43(at)yahoo(dot)com

  42. Pingback: The Four Ms. Bradwells: Review | BOOK CLUB CLASSICS!

  43. Lisa Garrett

    My best friend and I have been together since second grade. We are now 52 years old. I treasure our friendship every day. We live in a town other than where we grew up and we now work together. My daughters call her aunt.

  44. Jennifer Grant

    You must read “The Wednesday Sisters” – that’s how I found this author! Another great women-friendship-read is “Circle of Grace” by Penelope Stokes. I follow you in every way but I didn’t tweet about the book… oops!

  45. stilettostorytime

    Thanks to everyone who entered for a chance to win this fantastic book….drum roll…the winner is Tiffany D! Congratulations Tiffany and Good Luck and Happy Reading to all.

Let's Talk....

