Review: Matched by Ally Condie

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_ibedmbivr60/TKOlluMpyYI/AAAAAAAABHw/YnjdVDmTPoI/s320/matched.jpgIn the Society, Officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die.

Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s barely any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one . . . until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path no one else has ever dared follow—between perfection and passion.

Matched is a story for right now and storytelling with the resonance of a classic.

http://1stimpressionwindowcleaning.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/Dots_divider_green.jpg

Books with hype make me nervous. I don’t know if it’s that I am afraid that they won’t live up to the buzz or if I just want to hold them off until I am in need of a sure-to-be page turner. Whatever the reason I don’t dive into them as soon as I get them especially when they are advance reader copies far in advance of publication. And so goes the story of Matched by Ally Condie. Anyone who has read my blog knows I love YA. I also love dystopian…put the two together and I am a pretty happy reader. However I received an ARC of Matched from BEA this year in May….and I just read it yesterday. Despite it’s being my “cup of tea” and having a fantastic cover and even more fantastic hype…I just didn’t pick it up. But when I did get around to reading it, I could not put it down.

Condie has really created a unique dystopian that reads not only as a thought provoking take on society and our future but also as a well written story in general. Lovers of dystopian will be in Heaven but teens and adults who enjoy a good read will also be mostly satisfied with Matched. Most intriguing to me was the idea of simplicity. Would a more simple life make us happier in the future? What if all the choices we make were made for us? Would we be relieved of burdens or deprived of the most important aspect of life? Even better is the fact that this is only the first book in the trilogy. Readers still have two more books to look forward to.

If I had any complaints for the book it would probably be that the characters were not quite as deep as I would have liked. I felt we only scratch the surface on who they are…we never really see them come alive on the page. It’s seems as though the setting and the “Society” took center stage and the characters in some way fell behind. Hopefully just maybe that will change in the next book in the series. I do know that Matched was good enough to make me read the next book and to look forward to more from Ally Condie in the future. I guess sometimes the hype is deserved.

Matched by Ally Condie will be released on November 30, 2010.

How do you feel about books with a big buzz? Does it make you more likely to grab the book as soon as possible or more hesitant?

4 Comments

Filed under Books for Girls, Dystopian, Girly Books, New Books, Young Adult Books

4 responses to “Review: Matched by Ally Condie

  1. You’ve made me want to read this book right now.

  2. I’m actually right in the middle of this one and not so sure about it. I put it off because of the buzz, it truly can be too much at times. Now I’m thinking maybe I expected too much? We’ll see, I’m hoping by the end I’m dying for the next in the series.

  3. Pingback: Spotlight on the Wordpress.Com Book Bloggers! « Randomize ME

  4. Jen - Devourer of Books

    I’m slightly scared of the buzz of this one, but people I trust are really enjoying it, so I hope to get to it soon.

Let's Talk....

