Blog Tour: Unstoppable in Stilettos by Lauren Ruotolo

http://karenkellywriter.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/41sunmn3ghl_sl500_aa300_1.jpg I don’t really read “self-help” books. It’s a personal reading choice. Some readers love them and some can’t stand them. I tend to fall in the latter category. Most of the time the information between their pages seems to be largely common sense and simply packaged in different ways again and again. We all logically know we need to be positive, believe in ourselves, work hard and chase our dreams….this is nothing new. No matter how it’s stated it remains the same. It’s not going to get any easier. There is not a magic answer everyone knows but you. What can make a difference is the story behind someone’s advice. Is it inspiring? Did you enjoy reading about their life? Did it give you hope?

Lauren Ruotolo’s Unstoppable in Stilettos: A Girl’s Guide to Living Tall in a Small World grabbed me at the title obviously. When I received it….well I had my doubts. (Again I hate self-help books.) However what really made me enjoy this book is Lauren’s story. She’s an incredibly successful woman who was forced at a very young age to choose just how strong she would be: both physically and mentally. Her personal story is both interesting and inspiring. I wish there was more of it. However I can say that she is definitely qualified to give the advice that she does. She demonstrates in each instance how she took the advice she gives and applied it to her own life and the results she got from doing so. This is a woman who has faced true challenges that make most of our worries look like “walks in the park”. And she does it all in stilettos…how can you not love that?

This book would especially be good for younger teen girls. The messages inside are highly relevant to many of the changes they are encountering in their lives and it’s written in an easy and fun manner that would keep them both interested and entertained.

Thanks to TLC Book Tours and Health Communications Inc. one lucky reader will win a copy of Unstoppable in Stilettos. To win simply leave a comment below with your e-mail address. You must leave an e-mail address to be eligible. US/Canada addresses only. No P.O. Boxes please. The giveaway will end  November 1, 2010 at midnight.  Winner will be chosen by Random.org and contacted by e-mail.

 

http://tlcbooktours.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/tlc-tour-host.png

8 Comments

Filed under Adult Books, Books for Girls, New Books, Non-Fiction, Young Adult Books

8 responses to “Blog Tour: Unstoppable in Stilettos by Lauren Ruotolo

  1. Maureen

    Please enter me.

  2. debp

    I would like this, I think I know the perfect young girl to give this to.
    twoofakind12@yahoo.com

  3. My daughter has topped out at 5’3″ in a family where the men are all 6 feet and her mom and sister are 5’9″. Would love to give her this book.

    michaela@michaelamaccoll.com

  4. Great review! I’m so glad you enjoyed Lauren’s story. Thanks so much for being on the tour, Courtney!

  5. Like you, it had me at the word “stilettos”. I’m sold. My email address is mercedesyardley@gmail.com. Thank you for reviewing this!

  6. stilettostorytime

    Congrats….(drum roll)….Michaela! You are the lucky winner for this giveaway! I hope your daughter enjoys the book! Thanks to everyone who entered.

  7. Pingback: Lauren Ruotolo, author of Unstoppable in Stilettos, on tour November 2010 | TLC Book Tours

Let's Talk....

