Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon

https://i0.wp.com/24hourreadathon.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/03/readathon-button-from-book-addict.jpg

It’s that time of year again! Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon is here! Last Read-A-Thon I did really well and was one of the page count winners so this year I am really going to try and stay up and push the envelope! In the last Read-A-Thon I must admit I crashed a little early. I have my books planned and am working on my snacks…these are a must for a Read-A-Thon in my opinion. I do know I will be enjoying some Godiva Chocolate Truffle coffee to try and keep me going! I never really set goals for the Read-A-Thon, I really just put together a pile of books I want/need to read and go at it!

This year’s selection for the October 9, 2010 Read-A-Thon

As you can see I like to choose a wide variety of genres so that if I get in a rut..there are lots of options. I asked my friends yesterday what I should start reading this morning but I ended up finishing The Good Daughters by Joyce Maynard and loved it. I highly recommend it and will be giving away two copies immediately after Read-A-Thon ends thanks to the publisher HarperCollins. Also keep a watch for my review.

All you need to do to enter is tell me what you are reading right now in the comments below! And make sure you leave me an e-mail address so I can contact you if you win! US and Canada address only please.

Good Luck Everyone & Happy Reading!

My Read-A-Thon Books

The Good Daughters by Joyce Maynard

When the Devil Whistles by Rick Acker

The Pink Locker Society by Debra Moffitt

Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Prisoners in the Palace by Michaela MacColl

Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks

Dancing with Mr. Darcy by Sarah Waters

Mr. Darcy’s Littler Sister by C. Allyn Pierson

Stork by Wendy DelSol

Bright Young Things by Anna Godbersen

The Improper Life of Bezellia Grove by Susan Gregg Gilmore

The Intern by Jess C. Scott

Take a Chance on Me by Jill Mansell

End of Read-A-Thon Update

Total Number of Books Read: 6
Total of Pages Read : 2,030
Total of time Spent Reading :Β  15.25
Mini-challenges Completed: 12
Prize Won: 0

Well…it’s that time again to say goodbye to Read-A-thon and all my fellow readers over the past 24 hours. This year I did pretty good but I did sleep and that hurt my numbers badly. However what it most important is that I still had a blast and can’t wait to write up my reviews for those books I did read. Look for them in the coming days on Stiletto Storytime…see you all nest Read-A-Thon!

Thanks to everyone who stopped by and cheered for me or visited to enter a copy of Joyce Maynard’s The Good Daughter’s. It was definitely one of my favorite books from read-a-thon this year. The big winners were:

Erin @ Crazy Comma Momma

Debbie @ Readerbuzz

Congrats to you both! I know you will love the book just as much as I did!


33 Comments

Filed under Book Blogs, Contests, Events, Reading Fun

33 responses to “Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon

  1. Some pile! How many do you think you’ll get through?

    Something tells me you should start with Prinsoners in the Palace. I don’t know the book, but I can’t ignore my inner voice! πŸ™‚

    I’ve also got my books-to-read post up for the read-a-thon, so when you have time, have a look!

  2. I say you read Stork first. I’m dying to read it and I’ve heard nothing but good things. I’m sure it’s going to be great! πŸ™‚

  3. Amanda W

    I think you should read Safe Haven first. I love Nicholas Sparks books because they are light and fluffy.
    amandarwest at gmaildotcom

  4. lavenderlines

    So I’d say start with Bright Young Things by Anna Godbersen. I heard it was fabu.

    Okay, when you hit your reading wall and are falling asleep, grab Stork. I stayed up until 4 am on Tuesday reading it. It is snort out loud hilarious!

  5. That’s quite the pile of books. I hope you have fun with the read-a-thon!

    I will be still viewing lots of film at the Vancouver International Film Festival. It’s like a marathon. I often see 4-5 movies daily and it goes for 16 days. I can hardly wait until the last day, on Oct. 15th, I’m getting tired!

  6. I’m all for Dancing with Mr. Darcy — but who wouldn’t be? Good luck Courtney. I will be rooting for you.

    Cheers, Laurel Ann

  7. Snacks are key to the readathon experience. Have a good one! πŸ™‚

  8. Glad you enjoyed The Good Daughters. I recommend starting Bright Young Things next.

  9. Wow.. you rock! I have a hard time getting off of the computer and actually READING, go figure! lol I’m currently reading The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook.

  10. Right now, I am reading Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – figured it would keep me in a happy reading mode to start off!

    knittingandsundries(at)gmail(dot)com

  11. One book finished! Keep it going!

  12. (Non)traditional Buddhist readathon blessing:

    Just as the books fill the shelves,
    Pile together on the floor and stack up on the table
    So may the joy of the readathon
    Flow forth to brighten your day and lift your spirit.
    Books already read, books in progress and books yet to be read.

    By the power of every word on the page
    May your book be delightful,
    As scary as Lovecraft’s Cthulhu
    Or as sweet as a box of See’s candy.

    Let the power of the images evoked by words
    Keep you stay awake long through the night
    May no obstacle impede
    Your day filled with books.

    For all of those who are reading today
    Who follow in the path of Dewey
    May your day be filled with the four blessings
    Of fabulous books, tasty snacks, comfy chairs and joy.

  13. Happy Reading! Congrats on finishing your first book!

  14. I’m reading Mrs. Doubtfire. I’d love to win this book (though I never win!)

    debnance at gmail dot com

  15. millymarie

    Love your book choices. I also have a wide range of genre’s I believe. It makes the time go by faster I think or if you get too bogged down in one you can switch it up. Adding Dancing with Mr. Darcy & Mr. Darcy’s Littler Sister to my wishlist and my ever growing Jane Austen-ish reads. Good luck and have fun! πŸ˜€

  16. The party’s starting to pop
    And you’re already having fun.
    Don’t let the momentum stop
    And get some reading done!

    373 pages! Fantastic!

  17. Wow- you’re doing awesome so far with your reading! Great book choices too. I’ve just started reading Afterlife by Claudia Gray.

    Happy reading!
    readingdate at gmail dot com

  18. You have some great books picked out, most of which I’ve never heard of! And you seem to be making wonderful progress. Keep it up and happy reading!!!

  19. 1, 2, 3, 4
    Hope your book isn’t a bore
    5, 6, 7, 8
    And your readathon is going great!

  20. Looks like a great list and Zoe is too cute πŸ™‚

    I just finished up Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone…I think I may go with The Lightning Thief next.

    Good luck and ENJOY!

  21. Argh he looks really cute ,good friend has a westie there such characters ,all the best stu

  22. A thought to mull over: β€œThe best of a book is not the thought which it contains, but the thought which it suggests; just as the charm of music dwells not in the tones but in the echoes of our hearts.” — John Greenleaf Whittier

    Enjoy your reading!

  23. And you will read 500 pages
    And you will read 500 more
    Just to be the one who reads 1000 pages
    I won’t let you start to snore

    Already marked three books off the list, huh? Fantastic!!

  24. great job so far – 3 books! I am impressed!

    I have heard good things about The Good Daughters – thanks for hosting the giveaway! Booksncity (at) gmail (dot) com

  25. I love how you set this up as just one post you can keep updating. FAB idea! Also, just have to say, I love the pics of your puppy, hilarious!

    Keep up the great reading! You’re doing great! The great books will no doubt help til late! :o)

    -Your friendly Read-a-thon Cheerer “Danielle” aka The1stdaughter from There’s A Book

    • stilettostorytime

      Thanks Danielle…I just didn’t want to bombard my readers with endless Read-a-thon posts….this way they get the initial post and can follow up if they’d like. Initially it was an invitational post for them to join!

      Happy Reading!
      Courtney

  26. Give me a R! Give me an E! Give me an A! Give me a D!
    What’s that spell? Read! Read!
    Books are the best
    We’ll not eat
    We’ll not rest!

    Yeah, well eating and sleeping may be required for mortals, but you know what I mean πŸ˜€
    Keep up the great work! And thanks for participating in my challenge.

    Brandi from Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  27. midnightbookgirl

    Don’t give in to yawning sleep,
    That stealer of reading time, that creep!
    Stay awake and read with me
    And read of what was, what is, and what might be!

  28. Marg

    I would love to visit Egypt too! One day! Thank you so much for participating in my mini-challenge.

  29. I feel so happy to have won this wonderful new book! Thank you so much!

    I’ve sent my mailing info by e-mail.

    So glad to know that you recommend it.

  30. This was so much fun, I’m so glad I participated this year (my first time!)

  31. Wow you read a ton and a nice variety too! Nice work yesterday!

Let's Talk....