Review & Giveaway: The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Gross Junior Edition

http://www.chroniclebooks.com/images/items/9780811/9780811875707/9780811875707_large.jpg Two distinct things popped into my mind after reading The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Gross Junior Edition by David Borgenicht, Nathaniel Marunas &Robin Epstein.

#1: What a great book for a reluctant boy reader in the age range of 8-12.

#2 This is a book that may not make me very popular among the parent(s) of that 8-12 year old reluctant reader.

The book is everything the title claims..and most of all gross. I understand some people may have objections…do we really need to know all the alternative names for poop or have boogers, gas and burps classified? Well…maybe not. But that does not mean that it may be extremely fascinating to young boys the world over and may be the ticket to getting them to pick up a book! The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Gross Junior Edition also has another great thing going for it…it’s full of facts! Sure the facts may be gross but they are facts nonetheless which is another hit for that 8-12 year age group. Think the “Guinness World Book” stage that a lot of kids go through. I went through one myself and adore random facts to this day. I am a librarian. This book will satisfy that random fact urge on the grossest of levels, my husband was a fast fan (the male gender appeal seems to extend far beyond the target age group).  You can learn everything from the real truth about warts to the largest hairball ever removed from a human. That’s right, I said human not cat. Told you it was gross. It’s all you would come to expect from the great Worst Case Scenario series only gross and junior sized!

And thanks to the generous publisher Chronicle Books, one lucky Stiletto Storytime reader will get to be grossed out as well with their own copy of The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Gross Junior Edition. Read it yourself and share it with the boys in your life (both young and old)…they are sure to love it! Contest ends October 7th at midnight EST. Winner will be chosen randomly and notified by e-mail. To enter simply leave a comment with your e-mail address telling me who in your life would LOVE this book.

Also make check out the other stops on this books great Blog Tour:

14 Comments

Filed under Blog Tour, Children's Literature, Children's Non-Fiction, Middle Grade, New Books

14 responses to “Review & Giveaway: The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Gross Junior Edition

  1. debp

    This book sounds so funny. I would love to have it.
    twoofakind12@yahoo.com

  2. Michele

    I have a reluctant reader…don’t know how THAT happened. I am ecstatic when she reads ANYTHING and enjoys it that it doesn’t matter to me what she read!!
    This book sounds like fun!
    Michele
    rlawrence110@yahoo.com

  3. connie black

    Where would I even start as to who to share this with. We are a houseful of eight…six of them being “dirty” boys! lol
    This looks like a great read!
    epblack at zoominternet dot net

  4. My son would love this book!!
    bkhabel at gmail dot com

  5. Chelsea B.

    My brother would love this :-)

  6. teacher333

    Great book offer! My reluctant readers in my 3rd grade class would love this one! Thanks!

  7. I’m having a sleepover and I know my son and his cousin would love this book. they love being gross.

  8. My little brother, Travis, would LOVE this book. I had to giggle because he has a Guiness Book of World Records that he reads all the time. He’s always sharing facts from it with me. He’s so cute!

    readingvacation@att.net

  9. I think my middle school boy students would LOVE this… Thanks for this awesome giveaway!

    Jessi
    jlelliott08 AT gmail DOT com

  10. Pingback: Tweets that mention Review & Giveaway: The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Gross Junior Edition « Stiletto Storytime -- Topsy.com

  11. tina boudreau

    OH coming from a houseful of readers and having that passed down ‘so far’ to all the grandkids – a lovely girl i work with is having an awful time getting her young boy to read — and from knowing HER – this book would be a perfect storm!
    tina.boudreau@gmail.com

  12. stilettostorytime

    Not a problem…anytime you would like to enter a contest and not give your e-mail address publicly ….just leave a comment and then shoot me an e-mail just so I have your e-mail in case you win! My e-mail is available on my “About Me” page. Thanks for entering!

    Autonomous Blogger you are entered and I have taken your e-mail address off! =)

    “I am nanny of a 10 year old tom-boy who would LOVE this book. She is hard to encourage to read, and I would love to have her read this to me. I wish we didn’t have to publicly publish our email address, but I will oblige since I want to win this for my little girl so bad.”

  13. Oh, I’m certain my oldest son (a formerly reluctant reader) would LOVE this one! My email: jennsbookshelfATgmail.com!

  14. stilettostorytime

    Congrats to “Inspired Kathy”! Random.org chose you as they winner and I will be contacting you soon! Thanks to everyone who entered and good luck next time..more reviews and giveaways to come!

Let's Talk....

