“Rules” Rules!

 
Sometimes I try to think of inventive new posts to write and then sometimes I realize that oldies are goodies and I can’t get this one off my mind. While Rules is not necessarily old, it was published in 2006. I was a little late reading Rules by Cynthia Lord. In fact I did not read it but listened to it instead. Since I read so much new children’s lit, a book feels old if it was published more than a year before, I have so little time to go back and read works that I might have missed for some reason.  But I can tell you there is a reason the book is dripping in awards and nomintations. It is absolutely wonderful. Everything a children’s book should be and somehow even more.
If you have not read it, you must and if your child hasn’t you should make sure you have a copy lying around the house. It is also a great read aloud title. Catherine has a spectaular voice that just brings you into the book. She is real. So lovable and so honest in that childlike manner. And I love that as she says “pantsless brothers are not her problem”. The Audio Book that I read also had a narrator that brought the story to life and I loved her voice. It perfectly made a picture in my head of Catherine along with the text. I could not wait to get in the car so I could hear more of the story.
Cynthia Lord has her new title coming out in Spring 2009 titled Touch Blue which I am sure will be great as well. .
In the meantime check out her site.
2 Comments

Filed under Award Winners, Children's Literature, Cynthia Lord

2 responses to ““Rules” Rules!

  1. Noel Tackett

    “Rules” was the best book I’ve read in a very long time. I cried tears of happieness and tears of saddness. I couldn’t put the book down and I was sad when it ended because I wanted to read more of it. I’m excited about her new book “Touch Blue.” This book was touching in so many ways. I couldn’t find a book I wanted to read so i just grabbed this bok off the library shelf and I believe I found a book I will always truly remember. I will definitely read this book again and again. I don’t think it will ever get old.

  2. Pingback: Autism Awarness Challenge « Stiletto Storytime

Let's Talk....

